Bayreuth Institute for American Studes
Tel.: +49 (0)921/55-3516
E-Mail: bifas@uni-bayreuth.de

News:

CFP: Fifth Summer Academy of Atlantic History

"Connecting and Globalizing the Atlantic"

September 28 - October 1 2017

CFP: 2017 International Conference on Cross-Cultural Studies

"Intercultural Adaptation, Globalization and Risk"

October 6 - 7, 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About us

 

The Bayreuth Institute for American Studies (BIFAS) is an interdisciplinary research institution at the University of Bayreuth that promotes and coordinates research and teaching activities with a focus on North America (the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean) and the circumatlantic world.

BIFAS-regions-800

Founded in 2011, BIFAS is part of the unique research environment that the University of Bayreuth provides with its programmatic support for interdisciplinary research cooperation and its dedication to international cooperation. The university’s six faculties and its many research centers are devoted to a number of highly innovative interdisciplinary research areas such as ecology and the environmental sciences, comparative cultural studies and intercultural processes, and African Studies. BIFAS provides a forum that serves to promote and channel new and existing creative synergies in this rich and dynamic research environment.

BIFAS currently brings together members of three of the six faculties of the University of Bayreuth (More info on disciplines represented). It provides the setting for several project co-operations and individual projects. Prominent research areas include American literature and popular culture, the circumatlantic African Diaspora, colonial history in an transcultural perspective, and a comparative exploration of how ecology and risk assessment interact with a reconfiguration of space on a global scale. (More info on research)

BIFAS coordinates the various North America related research activities by organizing and supporting seminars, workshops, symposia, international conferences, and guest lectures. In addition to fostering synergies across disciplines, BIFAS promotes the inclusion of BA and MA students in such interdisciplinary research at an early stage of their university career. BIFAS provides a vibrant and open research environment for PhD candidates, young scholars and international guests (More info on past and current events). We welcome and invite the participation of scholars and students interested in North America and the circumatlantic world.

The Bayreuth Institute for American Studies (BIFAS) is headed by a governing board. The current board members are: Prof. Dr. Sylvia Mayer (director), Prof. Dr. Jeanne Cortiel, Prof. Dr. Susanne Lachenicht, and Dr.Christian Schmidt.

 

BIFAS-statutes (PDF)

 

For more information please contact our office:

Bayreuth Institute for American Studies

Universitätsstraße 30

95447 Bayreuth

Germany

E-Mail: bifas(at)uni-bayreuth.de

Tel.: +49 (0)921/55-3516

Fax: +49 (0)921/55-3569

Office hours: Monday to Thursday 10 AM - 12 PM.

Universität Bayreuth -

Bayreuth Institute for American Studes
Tel.: +49 (0)921/55-3516
E-Mail: bifas@uni-bayreuth.de

Aktuelles:

CFP: Fifth Summer Academy of Atlantic History

"Connecting and Globalizing the Atlantic"

28 September – 1 Oktober 2017

CFP: 2017 International Conference on Cross-Cultural Studies

"Intercultural Adaptation, Globalization, and Risk"

6 - 7 Oktober 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Über uns

 

Das Bayreuther Institut für Amerikastudien (BIFAS) ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung der Universität Bayreuth, die amerikabezogene Forschung und Lehre fördert und koordiniert. Forschungsgegenstand ist Nordamerika insgesamt (USA, Kanada, Karibik) und dessen Vernetzung im atlantischen Raum.

BIFAS-regions-800

BIFAS wurde 2011 als zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Universität Bayreuth gegründet und stärkt die einzigartige Forschungsausrichtung der Universität Bayreuth, die interdisziplinäre Forschungskooperationen programmatisch unterstützt und internationale Forschungszusammenarbeit explizit fördert. Die sechs Fakultäten der Universität und die zahlreichen universitären Forschungseinrichtungen zeichnen sich durch eine Reihe innovativer, interdisziplinärer Forschungsschwerpunkte aus, etwa in der Ökologie und den Umweltwissenschaften, im Kulturvergleich und der Erforschung transkultureller Prozesse, und in den Afrikastudien. Das Bayreuther Institut für Amerikastudien (BIFAS) bietet hier ein Forum, das bestehende Konvergenzen in der Forschung bündelt und in der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit neue kreative Synergieeffekte erzeugt.

BIFAS vereint momentan WissenschaftlerInnen aus drei der sechs Bayreuther Fakultäten. (Erfahren Sie mehr über beteiligte Disziplinen) Das Institut bietet den Rahmen für eine Reihe von interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten und Einzelstudien. Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind u.a. die amerikanische Literatur und Populärkultur, die Erforschung der Afrikanischen Diaspora, Kolonialgeschichte in transkultureller Perspektive sowie die Untersuchung von globalen Risikofiktionen und Risikoszenarien aus kulturwissenschaftlicher (d.h.u.a. literatur-, theater- und medienwissenschaftlicher Perspektive. (Erfahren Sie mehr über Forschung)

BIFAS fördert den Kontakt und Austausch zwischen WissenschaftlerInnen durch die Veranstaltung von Seminaren, Workshops, Symposien, internationalen Konferenzen und Vortragsreihen. BIFAS richtet sich auch an BA- und MA- StudentInnen, die früh in die Wissenschaftswelt eingeführt werden sollen. Das Bayreuther Institut für Amerikastudien (BIFAS) bietet ein anregendes und einladendes intellektuelles Forum für DoktorandInnen, junge WissenschaftlerInnen und Gäste aus der ganzen Welt. (Erfahren Sie mehr über vergangene und aktuelle Veranstaltungen)

Dem Bayreuther Institut für Amerikastudien (BIFAS) steht ein Leitungsgremium vor, das sich momentan aus den folgenden Personen zusammensetzt: Prof. Dr. Sylvia Mayer (Direktorin), Prof. Dr. Jeanne Cortiel (stellvertr. Direktorin), Prof. Dr. Susanne Lachenicht und Dr. Christian Schmidt.

 

Ordnung des Instituts (PDF)

 

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte:

Bayreuth Institute for American Studies

Universitätsstraße 30

95447 Bayreuth

Germany

E-Mail: bifas(at)uni-bayreuth.de

Tel.: +49 (0)921/55-3516

Fax: +49 (0)921/55-3569

Bürozeiten: Mo. - Do. 10:00 - 12:00 Uhr

 

 

 

Universität Bayreuth -